Solidarity – The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is (NATO) is an alliance of 29 countries from North America and Europe committed to fulfilling the goals of North Atlantic Treaty signed on 4 April 1949.


Freedom – In accordance with the Treaty, the fundamental role of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of its member countries by political and military means.


Security – NATO safeguards the Allies’ common values of democracy, individual liberty and the rule of law, and the peaceful resolution of disputes and promotes these values throughout the Euro-Atlantic area.


Transatlantic link – The Alliance embodies the transatlantic link by which the security of North America and Europe are permanently tied together. It is the practical expression of effective collective effort among its members in support of their common interests.